top of page
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's picturetulsi patel

arrival in korea (vlog included)

TL;DR- check the vlog:



The past three days have already been filled with so much. Korea has not been as nerve racking as I had expected. I was given a warm welcome at the airport from my good friend Jinny from Yale. She picked me up and we took the bus to her family's home. They were so overwhelmingly kind, I was about to combust. Her grandma gave me a huge hug when I walked in and was somehow impressed by my very basic Korean skills. Later, her mom took us out to eat and Jinny and I explored the area around her neighborhood.


Seoul is lit. Literally. The lights everywhere at night, the edgy youth, the cool music. I was ready to be shocked by what the city would look like but so far it's been pretty close what I pictured- and that's good. I had real bingsu for the first time and now my goal is to try every flavor of bingsu there is. Anyway, the next morning Jinny's family made me a grand breakfast and got me cake too. Then, they dropped me off at the sharehouse I am staying at.


A lot of Seoul has been getting lost, asking people for directions, them being slightly shocked that I can speak any Korean, and then moving on. I even made some Korean friends on the street... I don't know how that happened but they invited me to have dinner with them next Wednesday! Yay friends!


I met up with my Yalie friend Victoria and we explored more of Seoul with her aunt, who ALSO took care of me like I was her own daughter. She bought me all my food for that day- and it was a lot of food. I'm super thankful. We explored Hongdae, Lotte World, and Digital Media City (got more bingsu), but I feel like I barely even dented any of those places. Seoul has so much to explore, and my biggest fear is running out of time to see it all.


Kommentarer


bottom of page