top of page
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's picturetulsi patel

angst

Updated: Jan 29, 2021

It’s difficult to get angry

When you understand the Anger.

When childhood trauma, missed sleepovers,

New Years tears, crippling anxiety

All make sense.


The more you restrict the more I rebel.

Anger consumes me, and I want to drown

In bubbles, get too close to men.

Break through the thin layer of skin

that separates dreams from reality.


But I know why you do this.

How I wish you were truly Wrong.

Hate is so much easier when it is valid.


A precious culture, tradition, values.

You chose to rip the plant, roots and all,

Out of the sacred soil

And settled into Californian sand

Where you hoped saltwater would nourish me.


The brazen Sun burned

And I became Red.

An auspicious color. An angry color.

Now the basil shall become a poppy.


Rules and restriction

Left me choking on guilt.

Exaggerated personalities

Compensate for Dark’s failure to shine.


I stretch out big brown eyes,

Digging black kajal into their creases.

Drink your blood to tint my lips ruby.

Paint myself yellow with turmeric.


Call it teenage angst or disrespect.

This age is a beautiful one,

For stupidity is expected

And mistakes will be made.


Now if you don’t mind,

I am going to breathe smoky air,

Destroy my delicate body.

And I will learn from it.

And so will you.

Comments


bottom of page