top of page
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's picturetulsi patel

screaming silence

the rumbling of an espresso machine

the laughter of friends on a study break

the cacophony of the coffee shop merges

into one fluid hum, like white noise.


the city sirens that would keep me awake at night,

the honking of New York City cabs,

the demonic screeching of the subway,

the beep when I swipe into my college.


i used to walk from building to building,

earbuds in, music on.

i don’t know if i was trying to escape the noise outside

or if i just preferred to select my own surround sound.


the paper said noise levels have decreased.

i beg to differ.

i stare at the screen, amplified by my mind.

louder than ever.


IM A SAVAGE, I’LL MAKE A CUP OF COFFEE

I’M HUNGRY I WANT A SNACK.

CELEBRITY X IS CANCELLED.

I WONDER WHO I AM.

TIK TOK TIK TOK TIK TOK.

TURN DOWN YOUR MUSIC.

DID MY PHONE JUST BUZZ?

HAHAHAHAHHA LMAO

WHO ARE YOUR REAL FRIENDS?

NETFLIX THEME SONG.

YOU’RE GETTING FAT.

I’M HUNGRY I WANT A SNACK.

TIK TOK TIK TOK

WHAT ARE MY POLITICAL VIEWS?

TIK TOK

THE DEMOCRACY IS BROKEN.

ANOTHER SNACK.

WHEN WILL I SEE MY FRIENDS?

A CRAZY VIVID DREAM.

STAY SIX FEET APART SIX FEET

DID I WASH MY HANDS?

TIK TOK WHAT TIME IS IT?

WHAT DAY IS IT?

DOOMSDAY.


i scream.

not out loud.

just in my head.

so it’s louder now.

i cannot find the mute button.

there is no remote control for the mind.


so i download an app

that claims it will help me be calm.

and it plays the sound of nature

and a man talks to me, tells me to clear my mind.


breathe in breathe out

tik tok— NO

breathe in breathe out

six feet— NO

breathe in breathe out

breathe in

breathe out


when the world outside went quiet,

the mind turned up the volume.

nature tries to achieve balance like that.


but the man on the app told me

that there is more space in the mind than you think.

lots and lots of room for silence.

seems delightful.


did you know stars scream?

yes, the universe is infinite

and very loud.

but i don’t hear it.

that gives me hope.


we can all scream

but we don’t have to listen.

Comments


bottom of page