top of page
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's picturetulsi patel

so many cafes


This week consisted of exploring new cafes, hanging with friends, and going to a concert in the park. I also moved to a new place right between Hapjeong and Hongdae, which was a hassle at first but now that I'm settled it's all good.


Okay, so cafes. Probably one of my favorite things about Korea. I am very stingy with my money so I rarely went to cafes back at Yale because why would I do that when there were free libraries on campus? However, I think I discovered that cafe hunting/ just being in cafes is something that makes me really happy. I am a very go-with-the-flow person that doesn't have too many preferences, so sometimes I feel like I can't root myself in something that's purely ME. Finding something I'm genuinely ~passionate~ (for lack of a better word) about was super comforting. I was expecting personal growth/ self discovery before I came here, but I had envisioned it to come from negative situations rather than positive ones. Anyway, the cafes shown in the video are Deep Coffee- a super hip and edgy cafe located in Yeonnam-dong behind Hongdae- and The Colour- an art cafe located right on the edge of Hongdae.


Thursday was our friend Eddy's birthday, so we went to the art cafe, had Korean barbecue for dinner, and then went to the river to cut cake and enjoy the view. It may seem like there isn't much for a vegetarian to eat at Korean barbecue, but SOMETIMES they will have sides that are cheaper than what they'd usually be. At the place we went to I got 냉면 for 4000 won (which is a pretty good deal). Then, on Saturday we went to a free concert in the park. I encourage people to look into events happening around Seoul. Read the flyers. You never know what you might find.


I'm already a bit sad because half of my time in Korea is up, and yes, that means there is still a whole other half left, but it still feels like it has gone too quickly. All I can do right now is make the most of the time I have here. So far I still try to do new things almost everyday. I still don't think I've eaten at the same restaurant more than once... which is astonishing. Tip of the week: if you get the chance to come here, don't hold yourself from doing things "later." Be spontaneous! Do it all!

Comments


bottom of page