top of page
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's picturetulsi patel

pre-departure

If you asked me how I felt about going to Korea a week ago, I would have been overwhelmingly excited. Now as I sit in the comfort of my living room, my dog running around and fighting with the Roomba vacuum, I'm finding it difficult to accept the fact that I'll be on a plane in 16 hours. I'm nervous, but I like it. I like it because I know I'm going to learn so much from any hardships I encounter during this trip. There will be ups and there will inevitably be downs. But downs allow for growth and every negative experience will be an opportunity for me to become a better version of myself.


Okay, now that the sappy inspirational stuff has been said, I am very excited. I have no idea what Seoul is going to be like. I've been imagining a colorful city with creative buildings around every corner and a pastel filter overlaying it all (like you see in K-dramas). Of course, it's not going to be all that. In fact, I know, because I've been strolling through the city on Google Maps the past few days and it looks quite different from the place in my head. Nevertheless, I am excited to find cute coffee shops and spend time just exploring the city.


Things I'm nervous about:

- making friends: I know I have other Light Fellows with me, but I feel that most of the people I know personally are going to SNU which is quite far. Hopefully we meet up regardless. Also, I am living in a share house which will hopefully allow me to meet lots of new people.


- being disappointed: This is my first study abroad experience, so of course I want it to go well and be as cool as people make it seem. But I don't want this bias to hide what I truly feel the experience is. I am expecting to not like somethings about Korea, and that's okay. I don't have to love everything. But I do have to accept and appreciate the culture I am in and refrain from trying to change it based on how I subjectively see things.


- other miscellaneous worries you have when you're living in a foreign country for three months: you know, not dying (Korea's supposedly super safe though), being accepted- or at least tolerated, finding vegetarian food, having time to do laundry, etc.


I am planning on vlogging a lot during this trip and trying to re-find my passions. I love editing and making videos so hopefully if I say that early on I'll be forced to stick to my word. So watch out for those! Until then, peace out America! See you in 3 months.

Comments


bottom of page